Quick Links

Quick Links

St Matthew's CofE Primary School

Our vision is to enable our whole school community to live life in all its fullness.
based on John 10:10

Our Governors

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors and the work that we do. We are a group of volunteers from a range of backgrounds within the local community who are passionate about children’s education and who want to make a real difference to the school.

Our job is to work with the school on the school’s strategy and vision, planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review so that all our children achieve their full potential. We monitor all sorts of aspects of the school’s work including the curriculum, the children’s progress and the school budget.

The Governing Body meets twice every term. We sometimes set up working groups to look at particular issues (such as school expansion in 2011, appointment of the Deputy Head Teacher in 2016). We also work in committees to explore issues in greater detail. These include Faith, Personnel and Admissions, Finance and resources, Performance Management, and Standards).

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Foundation governors, a Local Authority governor, Parent and Staff governors. All governors have equal status .Their job is not to represent their group but to participate as individuals.

We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at St Matthew's.

Governors & their roles


Governors’ Directory Category of Governor     Term of Office
Mr. Andrew Buckley Parent Governor/ Co Chair of Governors 21/07/2024 
Miss Pam Dryden  Head Teacher n/a
Team Rector of St. Matthew’s    n/a
Mrs Jessica Johnson Parish Church Council 31/10/2025
Mr Thomas Eaves Parent Governor/ Co Chair of Governors 16/10/2026
Mr Amit Puni Parent Governor 16/10/2026
Mrs Fiona Dearman   Local Authority/ Vice Chair of Governors 17/07/2027
Mrs Jen Houghton  Parochial Church Council 21/7/2024
Mrs Pauline Keane  Southwark Diocese          04/10/2025
Mrs Victoria Lelliot Parish Church Council 17/09/2027
Mrs Rachel Dyer Parish Church Council 17/09/2027
Ms Jemma Chamberlain - Webber Staff Governor      01/01/2027