Skip to content ↓
St Matthews CofE Primary School

St Matthew's

Church of England Primary School

Believing, Achieving, Succeeding



Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors and the work that we do. We are a group of volunteers from a range of backgrounds within the local community who are passionate about children’s education and who want to make a real difference to the school.

Our job is to work with the school on the school’s strategy and vision, planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review so that all our children achieve their full potential. We monitor all sorts of aspects of the school’s work including the curriculum, the children’s progress and the school budget.

The Governing Body meets twice every term. We sometimes set up working groups to look at particular issues (such as school expansion in 2011, appointment of the Deputy Head Teacher in 2016). We also work in committees to explore issues in greater detail. These include Faith, Personnel and Admissions, Finance and resources, Performance Management, and Standards).

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Foundation governors, a Local Authority governor, Parent and Staff governors. All governors have equal status .Their job is not to represent their group but to participate as individuals.

We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at St Matthew's.

Governors’ Directory

Category of Governor                         

Term of Office

Mr Robin Ghurbhurun

Parent Governor /Chair of Governors


Miss Pam Dryden 

Head Teacher


Mr Chris Edis

Southwark Diocese/Vice Chair                                    


Rev. Helen Hancock

Team Rector of St. Matthew’s   


Miss Rosie Collins

Teacher Governor                                                                       


Mrs Lisa Honnor

Parent Governor                                                    


Mr John Warren

Southwark Diocese


Mrs Sarah Rowe

Parish Church Council


Mrs Carol Cameron

Parish Church Council


Vacancy Local Authority  
Mrs Jessica Johnson Parish Church Council 01/11/2021
Mr Andrew Buckley   Parish Church Council 12/09/2020

Please click here if you’d like to know a little more about our Governors